For more than 75 years the name of C John has been synonymous with the best woven works of art.
The business’s founder, C John, opened his first showroom in Henley-on-Thames in 1936. Two years later he obtained larger premises in the High Street, Oxford. Then in 1947 the Mayfair showrooms were established in elegant premises at 70 South Audley Street. In 2015 the gallery moved to a new modern space down the road at 43A South Audley Street, with the entrance on Adam's Row.
In 1966 C John received the accolade of being appointed as supplier of carpets to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, the first in this field to receive the Royal Warrant.
Among the wide ranging quality stock may be found fine aubussons, Kelim, Turkoman and Persian carpets and rugs. Rugs from India are displayed as are those of Caucausian or East Turkestan origin. A selection of European carpets, such as Axminster or Savonnerie may also be found, along with stunning textiles.
The C. John tradition continues under the personal directorship of Leon Sassoon, who offers an expert restoration and cleaning service, carried out by the firm’s own craftsmen, who combine their great skill with the finest materials available.
43A South Audley Street
(Entrance in Adams Row)